FLYING Magazine

Shortly after World War I, returning service members sought a way to advance their aviation skills while attending colleges and universities. The National Intercollegiate Flying Association (NIFA) was created to offer pilots an opportunity to demonstrate their skills through friendly competition.

In addition to helping collegiate aviators expand their flying skills, NIFA allows these pilots to further their careers by networking with industry officials and demonstrating their willingness and ability to go above and beyond the regular curriculum.

READ MORE: Top Five Challenges of University Flight Students

The organization has grown over the decades, and now select members of NIFA attend the Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON). This year, SAFECON 2023 will be held in May in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

In May 2022, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott won the NIFA SAFECON national championship for the second consecutive year at the Ohio State University Airport (KOSU). The win marked the 14th time the school won the top title.

READ MORE: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott Captures 2022 NIFA SAFECON Championship

Following the SAFECON 2022-23 regional competition season, NIFA announced it is inviting the following colleges and universities to compete at the National SAFECON 2023:

Region 1

United States Air Force Academy

Utah State University

Metro State University of Denver

Aims Community College

Region 2

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Prescott

California Aeronautical University

San Jose State University

Region 3

Western Michigan University

Ohio State University

Kent State University

Region 4

LeTourneau University

Oklahoma State University 

Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Louisiana Tech University

Region 6

University of North Dakota

University of Nebraska – Omaha

Minnesota State University – Mankato

Kansas State University

University of Central Missouri

Region 7

Bridgewater State University

United States Military Academy

Region 8

Southern Illinois University

Purdue University

Lewis University

Region 9

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Daytona

Auburn University

Polk State College

Region 10

Liberty University

Averett University

United States Naval Academy

The post NIFA Unveils SAFECON 2023 Invitee List appeared first on FLYING Magazine.

Read More